. . . and what audience participants have said.


Lorraina Marro & The Bradley Young Quartet
March 5, 2017 - The E Spot Lounge

Take a bow, Lorraina - Scott Yanow

Lorraina Marro is always fun to see perform. At the E-Spot, the singer was joined by pianist Bradley Young’s trio with bassist Adrian Rosen and drummer Jon Stuart plus an occasional tenor-saxophonist whose name I unfortunately missed. After the band played an instrumental version of “Perdido” (with Young sounding a bit like Oscar Peterson), the appealing vocalist commanded the stage during a set ranging from obscure love ballads and a grooving “Feel Like Making Love” to a swinging “Time After Time,” “Day In Day, Out” and even “You Make Me Feel Like A Natural Woman.” She closed the night with a beautiful version of “Tea For Two,” starting with the lesser-known verse. Sticking mostly to optimistic songs that fell between jazz, soul and r&b, Lorraina Marro displayed a joyful and powerful voice that consistently delighted the audience. - Scott Yanow, L.A. Jazz Scene

Lorraina Marro and The Bradley Young Quartet's magnum opus performance at Vitello's in Studio City Sunday was magical - putting a smile on everyone’s face, exuding warmth, lifting spirits, and reminding us of the pure beauty of love. Lorraina shared her soul with sincerity, warmth, and a cool calm collected confidence. What a joy! Hearing hger embrace standards effortlessly with such style and technique, was simply a delight. It's clear the band members were blessed to be backing Lorraina as they were aglow, displaying their priceless pleasure. She raised the bar and the A+ musicians followed suit. Looking forward to featuring Lorraina as the guest jazz artist on my radio show, "Sleepless in Studio City."  Debra Graf

The world would be a much better place if everyone had a chance to experience the heartfelt soulful singing of Lorraina...brightening up their lives, bringing joy and warmth to their spirits!!  Debra Graf

Pure pleasure. A true honor and privilege. You had me at hello! I'm in awe of your mind blowing brilliance and stunning skillful singing...not to mention your captivating, endearing soul & spirit!  Debra Graf

Dear new friend Lorraina.. you epitomize style and grace. We both loved your charming command of the stage and your presence..lovely. And of course..very lovely feel-good show. . . . You made us and everybody else happy! Wonderful enjoyable show! Just in time and at last..your show came along and put a smile on our faces.. THANK YOU. Joel Rothberg

My dear friend Lorraina Marro was absolutely sensational last night @The E Spot Jazz Club!!! Her extraordinary band performing with her was The Bradley Young Quartet!!! Lorraina sang her heart out to some of my favorite classic songs such as: "Time After Time", "Groovin'", "What You Won't Do For Love" and my personal favorite "To Be Loved"!!! A truly memorable evening!!!"  Jonathan Weitz

You and your band were so wonderful tonight! Congrats on a wonderful performance, and thanks for a magical evening. Gayle Wilder



SO RARE - May 12, 2016

The Gardenia
Review by Scott Yanow, L.A. Jazz Scene

Lorraina Marro, a highly appealing singer with a strong voice, performed recently at the Gardenia. She was accompanied by pianist Steve Rawlins, bassist John B. Williams and drummer Steve Pemberton for her warm renditions of standards. Ms. Marro’s singing, which often falls between swinging jazz and cabaret, is difficult to categorize. She puts a lot of feeling into the lyrics while also swinging and infusing the music with heartfelt emotions.

While her recent CD Mixed Emotions (which is excellent) consists of some of her best originals, Lorraina performed lively versions of vintage material at the Gardenia, emphasizing love songs and the many sides and stages of love. The night began with the trio playing a Latin-tinged version of “Come Rain Or Come Shine” while Lorraina danced to the stage. Among the highpoints of the colorful set were a swinging “Easy To Love,” a humorous version of “Let Me Love You,” some very nice vocal tones on “How Deep Is The Ocean,” a duet rendition of “You’re The One” with Rawlins, and a spirited medley of “More” and “I Love You More Today Than Yesterday.” Other highlights included a version of “Fever” in which she sang directly to members of the audience, a swinging “So Rare,” and a dramatic version of “I Chose The Moon.” Throughout the night, Lorraina Marro, whose talking to the audience between songs was often humorous and insightful, was heard in top form and she sent audiences home with a smile.




AN EVENING WITH LORRAINA MARRO - September 13, 2015

The Catalina Jazz Club
Review by Myrna Daniels, L.A. Jazz Scene

Vocalist Lorraina Marro looked elegant as she came on stage dressed in a long navy gown. She's an attractive woman who was at ease on stage and connected easily with the audience, which was filled with an enthusiastic crowd. It turned out to be a fun evening for everyone. “The Man Who Got Away” was a strong choice, as Marro turned the heat up for more drama. Likewise, “I Cried For You” was a full-blown, fast moving vehicle for everyone on stage to up the energy for a snappy ending. The audience was cheering and applauding Marro’s efforts.  Singer Sceaming Jay Hawkins wrote “I Put A Spell On You” in 1955, which was a big hit for Nina Simone. Marro did a fine job, concentrating on the lyrics with a strong, dramatic attack. This was one of my favorites of the night. Marro started “What Kind of Fool Am I” with a whispery voice, very emotional as the audience sat quietly. She ended with a stronger voice, pleading, with the lyrics, “Why can’t I fall in love?” The last tune was “Make Someone Happy” and I’d have to say, Lorraina Marro made her audience pretty darn happy on this evening.

Just want to tell you that you were absolutely amazing on Sunday night at Catalina!! Your voice is just gorgeous and so powerful...Wow!! You blew us all away with your beautiful gift of song. Jacnique Nina Harris-Love, Vocalist

Wonderful show on Sunday, Lorraina! Loved your choices, your arrangements, your ease on stage and your banter.... Congrats to a great night of music. Sharon Marie Cline, Vocalist

Lorraina Marro's show last night at the Catalina Jazz Club was truly joyful in every way - Lorraina was exquisite - her voice exceptionally melodic and beautiful as always, her timing and humor totally in sync and fun, and her band extraordinarily talented and amazing! It was truly a beautiful and memorable evening in every way! You nailed it Miss L!!! Can't wait for the next show!! Christie Hughes

Loved seeing Lorraina Marro sing last night at Catalina Bar & Grill, she was incredible....such a great show. Lauren Koval, Vocalist

Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. Tiffany Bailey, Vocalist

My sister Lorraina you set the tone for a fabulous night with that angel voice of yours... Girl and your band is purely amazing!!!! You have a fan over here... Xoxoxo Davi Davenport, Producer/Host Live TV Show

Tonight was pure perfection!!!! I went out for an evening of flawless music.... The amazing singer and a dear friend Lorraina Marro (R) gave the performance of a lifetime for a packed house. Davi Davenport

Fabulous. Lorraina Marro you were and are...Awesome!!! In great voice..beautiful, elegant,classy and entertaining!!! Thank you!!! Love you Sistah! Jessica Taylor, Former vocalist with the Platters

Lorraina! I enjoyed your show to the max! I am proud to be amongst your circle of friends and look forward to seeing and hearing you again in the (hopefully) near future. Sharon Speed-Anderson, Vocalist


 

September 9, 2015
Radio World Indie Featured Artist: Lorraina Marro

Lorraina Marro, born and raised in Los Angeles, has performed in many of the jazz venues in town and has developed a reputation as a true talent.

Lorraina Marro has a light, but aggressive style to her vocals. Her personal stories and the passion of her vocals reflect the struggles of being a very talented singer with a dream deferred. She’s a true show lady and a consummate entertainer. If you want to enjoy a romantic, but great evening of jazz with your girl or guy, make it a point to be at one of her next shows.

Radio World Indie LOVES Lorraina, we think she is ALL that and more bringing her sexy, romantic, sophisticated, classy music to the public. We are positive you will be whisked away into a dreamy world for lovers. She takes her fans on a personal journey, for all to capture the essence of the silver lining of her soul, from love, to the triangles of relationships and starting over. Thank you our beautiful guiding light of sexy music for all that you do and bring to Radio World Indie. May the heavens above pave your music path with Stars! To us you already hold the title of being the most vivacious woman on Radio World Indie. We thank you for recognizing RWI is worthy to play your music.
 


MIXED EMOTIONS - an all-original CD released February 1, 2015

Review by Scott Yanow, Jazz Journalist/Historian & Author

Lorraina Marro is a gifted singer and a talented lyricist. She made her recording debut in 2004 with You Must Believe In Spring, a set in which she performed some of her favorite standards. Mixed Emotions is quite a bit different for she wrote the lyrics to all nine songs.

Ms. Marro’s voice is quite powerful and very expressive while being difficult to classify. One could call her style jazz-inspired Latin r&b, but in reality she simply sounds like herself. While the backup musicians are fine, the emphasis is very much on her heartfelt vocals.
 
Her songs all deal with life’s struggles and successes with the emphasis on relationships and love. Such titles as “This Feeling’s So Right,” “He’s Not You” (a song full of regret and a little bit of hope), “Cuz Today I’ve Got The Blues” and “Crazy Love” discuss various stages of love affairs and situations. Particularly rewarding are the accessible “Let’s Begin Now,” “What Would I Do If I Didn’t Have You” (which features her singing some cooking straight ahead jazz over a walking bass), and the assertive “Not The End Of Me,” but each of the performances are memorable in their own way.
 
The interpretations of the lyrics are sung with such understanding that it is obvious that Lorraina Marro has lived the words that she sings. Mixed Emotions is an impressive effort, one that will be enjoyed by those who appreciate passionate and soulful singing about the lessons of life.
 



    

LET'S TOAST TO THE HOLIDAYS December 7, 2014

"All we can say about Lorraina Marro is WOW!" Upstairs at Vitello's

"OH my she is Hopping with Joy! Bless you Lorraina Marro you were fantastic Last Night!!!! Ahhhhh! Song Choices PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" Robyn Carmona, Promoter


"It was a night to remember. I am really glad that I went to Vitellos on Sunday again... Lorraina Marro you are a bomb and I can't wait for your cd... I loved the song in your show that you have written... and my second fav... When the World Turns Blue / Joe Sample. Was great meeting you." Heinzi Schmitthammer, Audience Participant (visiting from Germany)

"You were absolutely red HOT last night Lorraina!!! I enjoyed your show so much and your band was so great too!!! Such a memorable evening!!! Love  you!!! XO"  Jonathan Weitz

"Congratulations on an absolutely marvelous show! You sounded fantastic -- what a set of pipes you have! -- looked wonderful and are such a consummate entertainer. Tender, thrilling, funny, touching! Thank you so much for such an enjoyable evening!"  Ada Bird Wolfe, Vocalist 

 


LORRAINA MARRO "HOW GLAD I AM: A TRIBUTE TO NANCY WILSON" With Special Guest GARY BRUMBURGH - May 28, 2014

From the Director, Clifford Bell

Congratulations to LORRAINA MARRO for a very successful and meaningful night tonight.  Tonight was such a triumph for her...To see her onstage..looking like a million bucks- in elegant understatement like Nancy herself- on the stage of Catalina Jazz Club...still the most prestigious venue in the city...surrounded by the creme de la creme musicians with First Class sizzling, swingin', soulful arrangements by STEVE RAWLINS.

A very healthy Wednesday night audience cheered and whooped with most every song...and held rapt attention for the quiet moments...

My favorite quality about Lorraina as a singer is that she is very genuine about being in the moment....she knows how to "be"....and when she operates from that zen center...she can really take you with her as the song goes wherever it goes...when it needs to swing...she can swing....when it needs to wail...she can wail...but always from a very genuine, connected place. There's not a false moment about her...and that really means something to an audience, whether they know that's what they're responding to or not....

Aside from the wonderful audience, and the masterful presentation from the stage...one of the real perks of the night happened at the very end...while rolling up the ribbons and settling up in the office of the club...

Catalina - (Yes, Virginia - There is a Catalina) had stayed the whole night...something she literally almost never does and she LOVED the show....I have known Catalina for ten years and she is the last gal standing from the great Jazz Scene of the past, present and future...She has seen and heard everyone....

And Catalina....very sincerely....raved and raved and raved about how much she loved the show....What a great job Lorraina did....how great the music was....how well put together the show was....how touched she was by it...

Lorraina told me from the beginning she had a dream to do a Tribute to Nancy Wilson....and I'm here to tell you....tonight she did.

Oh...and to top it all off....Nancy's niece...DEBBIE JOYCE was in the house and during the show, filmed a little phone video and texted it to Nancy!!!!

Sooo happy and proud of Lorraina. CONGRATULATIONS!!! 

Review by Krystle Carmona
Writer. Social Media Consultant
Kncarmona@aol.com 

At Catalina Jazz Club, Los Angeles, CA

"On May 28, 2014, I had the distinct honor and great pleasure of attending the Catalina Jazz Club on the infamous Sunset Blvd. for a wonderful evening of song and homage. Well-groomed men and beautifully adorned women comprised the scene, but the belle of the ball was indeed Lorraina Marro who wowed the prestigious club with an incredible tribute to legendary songstress Nancy Wilson. If you’ve never been to the Catalina, it’s a swanky little hidden gem that exudes chic sophistication and grace, reminiscent of the supper clubs from the 1930s, very fitting for Marro who stunned in an elegant black ensemble with sparkling jewels that still could not take away from her natural beauty. And the voice…just as striking.

Because every great vocalist deserves a great band, there was certainly no short changing here when Marro enlisted the help of Musical director and pianist Steve Rawlins who assembled an all-star ensemble with Lyman Medeiros on bass, Doug MacDonald on guitar, and Steve Pemberton on drums.

However, it wasn’t until her take on the Nancy Wilson hit, “Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You” when I realized just how comfortable on stage the singing beauty was. Playing to the crowd, “I don’t know if it’s the dress or the shoes, but he just can’t take his eyes off me,” flirtatiously referring to a gentleman less than 10 feet from the stage who went by the name “Joe.” The playful banter between Marro and the guy named “Joe,” who turned out to be an extraordinary vocalist by the name of Gary Brumburgh led to a fun and charming duet between the two. Brumburgh also accompanied Marro for a second number, “Don’t Misunderstand” which established them a perfect pair.

Nancy Wilson’s niece, Debbie Joyce was also amongst the acknowledgements which made for a lovely treat, especially for Marro. But, the show must go on as she quickly jumped back into the swing of things with “The Music That Makes Me Dance” where she belted out some pretty big notes, which was quite impressive just after tears of joy ensued seconds before. And it didn’t stop there. Marro then got the crowd moving with the upbeat tune “Call Me” with members of the audience appropriately yelling back, ‘Call Me!’

Needless to say, it was a phenomenal evening. 

I had the chance to talk to Marro afterwards and she’s just as sweet as the melodies in her voice.  That combined with her superb talent is sure to make her a staple in the jazz world for many years to come.

Sweet Nancy would have been proud. Oh, ‘How Glad I Am’ to have been in attendance. 

Review by Buddy Sampson, The ScoopLA (5/28/14)

The Catalina Jazz Club, on a balmy evening in Hollywood, was the locale of a wonderful evening of jazz, spearheaded by the sensational performance of singer Lorraina Marro, whose show “How Glad I Am,” was a fine tribute to vocal legend Nancy Wilson. “Nancy Wilson was the reason I started singing,” said Lorraina Marro. “For me, much of my inspiration came from Nancy Wilson.”

Lorraina Marro, born and raised in Los Angeles, has performed in many of the jazz venues in town and has developed a reputation as a true talent. 

Among the wonderful people were her assortment of musicians on stage, which included musical director and pianist Steve Rawlins, bassist Lyman Medeiros, guitarist Doug MacDonald and drummer Steve Pemberton. They served as a very tasty backdrop to the musical canvas that Marro masterfully painted.

She started her set with her version of “You’d Be Nice To Come Home To,” a bluesy number that featured her playful vocals and started giving the audience a sense of her playfulness and charm. She performed a Murray Grand/Elisse Boyd song, “Guess Who I Saw Today,” which would have done Nancy Wilson proud. Among the other songs she performed in her set, were “Don’t Take Your Love From Me,” “The Grass is Greener,” and “Too Late Now.” But the best song of her set was “You’re Just Too Good To Be True,” a song that truly emphasized her penchant for entertainment, flirting with the audience to great effect. She flirted with a guy in the audience, “Joe,” who she invited to join her on stage. Well “Joe,” was actually a singer named Gary Brumburgh, who was very charming on stage. Their banter and jokes made her already formidable set even better.

Lorraina Marro has a light, but aggressive style to her vocals. Her personal stories and the passion of her vocals reflect the struggles of being a very talented singer with a dream deferred. She’s a true show lady and a consummate entertainer. If you want to enjoy a romantic, but great evening of jazz with your girl or guy, make it a point to be at one of her next shows."

 

"Wonderful show Lorraina. Guess Who I Saw today, Can't Take My Eyes Off You and Fireworks -- were great! Swingin' band-- and the duets were super."  Mark Winkler, Singer/Songwriter

"Lorraina's performance in her tribute to Nancy Wilson was outstanding.  I had the honor of attending this bands concert last night. Lorraino's tribute to Nancy Wilson was a spectacular performance, one I hope she repeats at other venues. The band doubled the delight." John Catoe

"We were at your performance last night. You were wonderful! We love the Catalina Jazz Club, and your show is one our favorites! Love your song choices! Thank you so much for a great evening, it was our 35th anniversary, you helped make it a night to remember!"  Tina Jenkins

"LOVED your show, you were fabulous!!! xoxo . . . . . Thank you Lorraina Marro for such a beautiful evening, and you and your DIVA self looked fabulous!! xoxo"  Christine Vert

 

DANNY'S SKYLIGHT ROOM, NEW YORK
Review by Stu Hamstra, Cabaret Hotline Online

On Friday, October 15, 2004, I saw two shows, the first being Los Angeles based Lorraina Marro's "You Must Believe in Spring" show.  Musical director Tedd Firth, who Ms. Marro had only met a few days earlier, led his trio as though they had played this show a dozen times before. The result was a polished, professional performance. With heavenly vocals that lean to the jazz style, this was an evening that I enjoyed completely. I look forward to a return visit from that super singer soon.


CD RELEASE SHOW MAY 2004 - CATALINA JAZZ CLUB, LOS ANGELES
Review by Gina Zollman, Beverly Hills Outlook

The recent CD release party for Lorraina Marro's first recording, "You Must Believe In Spring," held at the new Catalina Bar and Grill in Hollywood, was a stellar event, almost reminding me more of a lavish wedding than a jazz/cabaret show! With over 100 guests in attendance, there was a festive atmosphere as all awaited the lady of the moment, Lorraina Marro.

Decked out in a figure-hugging black sheath with a sparkly, sequined shawl, Lorraina humbly assumed the diva position center stage and really let go. Unassuming and sweet-natured, Lorraina Marro delivered on the promise of her professional-looking promotional materials and great website: she was so elegant and easy-going and naturally charming, pulling off this high-pressure coup like she had been doing it forever.

Lorraina Marro's voice was dreamy and consistently smooth, with a slight, sweet vibrato. Her end notes were held out for all to admire, so true and clear and bell-toned. She gave a lovely, understated rendition of the musical theatre standard "If Ever I Would Leave You" from "Camelot," an excellent choice of material for her. Many of the songs I had never heard before; they were lyrically very rich, and the tunes were pleasing, all in the right key for Lorraina's sumptuous vocals.

One of her talented musicians was the team player and "been there, done that" upright bass player (Seals and Crofts, Dolly Parton, Brian Setzer Orchestra) John Hatton, also on the CD, so talented and skilled. Lorraina was also lucky to hook up with Gil Leib, her musical conductor and pianist, the go-to guy for great shows and CDs in Los Angeles, so the buzz goes. Gil arranged about half of the show's (and CDs) numbers, and co-produced the CD with the drummer and percussionist, Bill Severance, who also did some of the arranging. Even Lorraina arranged a song, the unique tune, "Come Down From the Tree," by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen C. Flaherty, with only Lorraina and the plaintive piano of Gil Leib.

Miss Marro shone with inner and outer beauty on her title song, "You Must Believe In Spring," so filled with hope and a longing for things to work out. More very real and personal patter followed, informing us of recent performances in Las Vegas, a semi-finals finish at the San Francisco Cabaret Festival, and other indications she is making a wonderful name for herself in this area of show business.

"Soon" was one of my favorites of the day, uptempo and jazzy, a signature tune, to be sure. This seldom sung Gershwin selection stole my heart, and the arrangement was stunning, with only short instrumental solos, and some musical puns (a la Gershwin's American in Paris) just to see if you were paying attention.

Lorraina finished up her delightful set with an encore, after a rousing and well-deserved standing ovation. "The Shadow of Your Smile" was a pleasing, sentimental coda to an honest, well-rehearsed and superbly mounted CD party to beat the band. This song was really a salute to that saloon singer extraordinaire, Sinatra, and capped a classy and musical morning. Well done, Lorraina and company, they don't make 'em like you anymore. 


THE GALA BENEFIT FOR THE CHILDREN OF HEROES, HILTON HOTEL, LAS VEGAS
Richard Steinberg, National Chair

“There’s that moment of magic when the night and the day are precisely balanced on the horizon; and magic is in the gentle breeze.

There’s that moment of magic when the air is so still that you can actually hear inspiration call to you.                      

And there’s Lorraina Marro on stage.

Her gentle craftings, lyrical excellence, charm and style wrap around any song that she sings to perfection.

She takes the stage, the audience noisily busies themselves with their drinks or whatever, then suddenly become silently rapt by the pure magic she weaves.”


THE GALA BENEFIT FOR THE CHILDREN OF HEROES, FOUR SEASONS HOTEL, LAS VEGAS
Richard Steinberg, National Chair

“ I want to thank you for ... your courageous spirit combined with your very lovely voice and great talent to bless our evening and make a difference in the lives of some young people who need it most. And while your “clown make-up” story was unquestionably one of the hits of the evening, (I’ve had it told to me no less than three times since the Gala) I believe you became a hit the minute you said “yes,” to my too forward request to come and sing and help.”


Excerpt from an e-mail from a commanding officer of a Special Operations unit regarding the video he and his unit watched of the Gala for Children of Heroes

“Ms. Marro was FANTASTIC and silly and an incredible singer, and we all really enjoyed her a great deal, and were particularly moved that a star like that would commit herself to be a regular part of your efforts. Her performance reminded us all of better times and her voice took us all to a better place.”


FIGARO RESTAURANT, SIMI VALLEY
Gary Kroeger - Actor/Owner


I have only the highest praise for Lorraina Marro as a performer and as a human being. Her professionalism, repertoire and talent as a song stylist is matched only by her genuine kindness and modesty. Her master of styles and consistently expanding repertoire joined with a personable approach between songs has made her one of the top draws at Figaro Figaro. I wouldn’t hesitate to book Lorraina as a headliner at any venue, such as ours, whose primary clientele is an adult, sophisticated and fun-loving crowd.